Don’t Eat all the apples first!

Illustration Friday topic: Gesture

“Drawing is like making an expressive gesture with the advantage of permanence” – Henri Matisse

The animated .gif expresses the future of our new drawing tool. Double click, on the smaller image to the right.  
(It’s a 3.63 MB .gif, with 5 loops. The first run through may appear slow until it is fully downloaded)

 

I’m not sure how Matisse came up with his thinking about the permanence of drawing, as a drawing could always be erased, torn, crumpled up and tossed away….and that was before the delete button of the digital age . With that in mind my “expressive gesture” in response to this week’s Illustration Friday topic takes on the modern drawing tool, the computer. Plus, I’ve been wanting to learn the animated ghost typing technique. So, this post is my homage to the digital era.

Animation enthusiasts: If you haven’t yet come across Adam Bowman’s animations, here’s a link http://abowman.com/google-modules/ He is a web developer from Maine who has created a collection of great gadgets/widgets, etc, which are small applications that can be added to web-pages or your desktop. Take a look.

4 responses to “Don’t Eat all the apples first!

  1. Your animation of that juicy apple make me wonder if -in the future- all products in supermarkets will come with a short animation in an electronic sticker. Mmmm….I’m off to find an apple.
    Well done!

  2. Wow! If all my recipes were presented like this I might actual cook dinner for my husband. Wish you could animate a dinner that looked and tasted like meat and potatoes but was actually veggies and fruit for him, too. He doesn’t like my green food and so loves mayo and butter… This is so cool!

  3. Ha, this is great! Covers a lot of territory (art, computers, cooking, self-control) in a very small space/time. Thanks for the ani link too. I’ve had to put myself on a Flash-play-prevention program in order to get actual paying work done, but I can’t wait to get back to it.

Leave a Reply

