Toy: The Book as a Toy

Illustration Friday

The kind of book you can toy with.
As I enjoy designing and making books, I decided to tackle this week’s Illustration Friday  (http://www.illustrationfriday.com/) topic Toy, as an illustration of a book itself in some way. As an item of play with which a child could amuse itself.
The design is simple and many of us will have played with a book like this as a child ourselves. The pages are cut into threes, and as sections are flipped over, the character changes character.
This project gave me Illustrator & Photoshop practice using a character I’d already created for a Flash animation. Of course this is just an illustration, the book doesn’t exist in reality, but it was fun coming up with a few more variations of The Character which may come into use for a future project.
A Tip: http://library.thinkquest.org/J001156/makingbooks/makeown.htm is a site I found recently. A really good source of  information about making your own homemade books, how a book is made, publishing a book, etc

6 responses to “Toy: The Book as a Toy

  1. Looks great Sue, maybe you should make the book exist…… kids love these books!

  2. It would be a good idea to bring this idea into Indesign and make it an interactive .pdf…or flash.

  3. I like how the book looks, almost like I could pick it up and play with it. And…the sketched guy on the surfboard is very cute!

  4. Thanks for stopping by my blog:)
    You mentioned that you are makeing an interactive business card, never thought of that. I always sent my resume with a few examples of design in a .pdf . Is that the new trend? I already knew Illustrator, Photoshop and Indesign that I have been so focused on Flash and Dreamweaver. I did get cs5 and need to jump back and learn all the new gadjets in InDesign… There is so much to learn………..

  5. Thanks everyone for the tips and encouraging comments. Cyndia, I’m dipping into the ‘Adobe InDesign CS4, Classroom in a Book’ to keep improving my InDesign skills and had the idea to use my business card to practise the interactive .pdf lesson. It works well using navigation buttons to jump from front to back, with hypertext links to both this blog and ‘mailto’. Apparently I can add a flash file. I’ve prepared a sketchbook slideshow .swf, but haven’t been able to make this part work yet. I’ll keep trying, although it will be interesting to see if it makes the whole file size too big for practical emailing.

Leave a Reply

