Visual History

The major focus of The Barrack Street Project became the proliferate fancy iron work. I took my rough ideas into more detailed drawings, layered with text mimicking the form of the iron.
The initial drawings were then transformed again into a series of very large multipanelled collographs and etchings which really brought out the texture and form of the weather-worn iron.

One response to “Visual History

  1. I’ve always been fascinated with this sort of iron work on buildings, in Townsville in the ’80’s I used to sketch the historic buildings (& some just plain old) onto board & coat them & sell them as placemats – pity computers & scanners weren’t around because I sold them all & kept none for myself. I got right into the fine detail though & some buildings took days to do.

Leave a Reply

