Good Typography is Art

I discovered from the very start of this course how much fun letters and words are to play with. This exercise was early in our studies, before I had obtained Adobe’s Creative Suite. I was forced to discover much I didn’t know about Microsoft’s Word programme, experimenting with the ‘Wordart’ function, text boxes, transparency, PDFing a document to become an image…….but now I have Photoshop and Illustrator, so much more is possible.

Using typography this design illustrates a quote by the Master of Typography, Paul Rand.

The following ideas are some of my typography installation experiments.

3 responses to “Good Typography is Art

  1. Melissa Mackie

    Hi sue, An interesting post. Very true about good typography being art.

  2. Feel free to check out my blog.

  3. I’ve actually gone back to play with a bit of word art trying to get ideas for our current Logo Identity brief. Just playing with the letters is helping my thinking process.

Leave a Reply

